Instituto Nacional de Saúde Dr. Ricardo Jorge
follow us RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube
Send E-mail



INSA, LisbonThe National Institute of Health Dr. Ricardo Jorge (INSA) is a central department of the Portuguese Ministry of Health, with scientific, technical, administrative and financial autonomy, depending directly from the Minister of Health.

Founded in 1899 by the physician and humanist Ricardo Jorge (Porto, 1858 – Lisbon, 1939), as the main laboratory of the Portuguese health system, INSA is a State Laboratory, incorporating the functions of national observatory and national reference laboratory in the Portuguese health sector.

INSA has operative units in its main office in Lisbon, in one centre in Porto (Centre of Public Health Dr. Gonçalves Ferreira) and other centre in Águas-de-Moura (Centre of Study and Vectors and Infectious Diseases Dr. Francisco Cambournac).

Presently, INSA is organized in six departments:

  • Food and Nutrition Department;
  • Infectious Diseases Department;
  • Epidemiology Department;
  • Genetics Department;
  • Health Promotion and Chronic Diseases Department;
  • Environmental Health Department.

All operative units composing the departments develop multidisciplinary programmes in problem-areas of Public Health, namely performing R&D, health monitoring, training, laboratory external quality assessment and general health services.

Led by a Board of Direction, composed by a president (Fernando de Almeida) and one other member (José Maria Albuquerque), INSA’s human resources sum over 600 people, more than half of them with a higher education degree, including 60 with a PhD or equivalent.

O INSA colaborates with several national organizations: 
  • Associação Portuguesa de Documentação e Informação de Saúde - APDIS
  • Associação Portuguesa de Economia da Saúde - APES 
  • Aliança Portuguesa para a Preservação do Antibiótico - APAPA
  • Associação Portuguesa para a Promoção da Saúde Pública - APPSP 
  • Health Cluster Portugal - HCP
  • Instituto de Biologia Molecular e Celular - IBMC
  • Instituto de Patologia e Imunologia Molecular da Universidade do Porto - IPATIMUP 
  • Serviço de Utilização Comum dos Hospitais - SUCH 

And International:

  • European Centre of Disease Prevention and Control - ECDC
  • European Food Safety Authority - EFSA
  • European Surveillance of Congenital Anomalies - EUROCAT 
  • European Commitee for External Quality Assurance Programmes in Laboratory Medicine - EQUALM
  • European Food Information Resource – EuroFIR
  • European Science Advisory Network for Health – EuSANH
  • International Association of National Public Health Institutes  - IANPHI
  • MoniQA Association - MoniQA
  • Portal para as doenças raras e os medicamentos órfãos - ORPHANET